Gospel musician Joe Mettle has emerged Artiste of the Year at the 18th Vodafone Ghana Music awards held at the Conference Centre in Accra Saturday.

The feat makes Mettle the first ever gospel artiste to win the coveted award since the inception of the annual event.

The ‘Onwanwani’ singer beat competition from E.L, Sarkodie, Stonebwoy, MzVee, and Medikal win the most sought-after award.

Mettle also won the award for the gospel act of the year.

Below are other winners on the night


Artiste of the Year




Joe Mettle   —   WINNER




Reggae/Dancehall Artiste of the Year

Stonebwoy     —   WINNER

Ras Kuuku



Rudebwoy Ranking



Highlife Artiste of the Year

Bisa Kdei


Kofi Kinaata   — WINNER


Gospel Artiste of the Year

Joe Mettle — WINNER

Piesie Esther

Sonnie Badu

Jeshrun Okyere


Hiplife Song of the Year


Guru – Samba feat. Singlet

Donzy – Club feat. Piesie and Sarkodie

Flowking Stone – Go Low   — WINNER

Sarkodie – RNS

Criss Waddle – Bie Gya feat. Stonebwoy

Kofi Kinaata – Sweet Pie

VVIP – Alhaji feat. Patoranking


Afro-pop Song of the Year

E.L – Kaabu Ame   —   WINNER

Eugy – Dance For Me feat. Mr Eazi

Article Wan – Solo

Joey B – U x Me

Medikal – Too Risky feat. Sister Derby

Adina – Too Late

Vision DJ – Grind feat. A.I


Hip-hop Song of the Year

M.anifest – god MC — WINNER

Sarkodie – Trumpet feat. Tee Phlow, Koo Ntakra, Strongman, Pappy Kojo, Donzy, & Medikal

E.L – Lalafalama

Medikal – Confirm remix feat. Sarkodie

Edem – Egboame remix feat. Tee Phlow, Cabum, Gemini, Ayat, Mac M, Medikal, Darko, & Bebelino

Okyeame Kwame – Tension feat. Cabum, Medikal & Sister Derby

Best New Act


Nii Funny

Fancy Gadam   —  WINNER

Article Wan

Feli Nuna


Rudebwoy Ranking


Record of the year

Nacee – Me ne wo aa

Akwaboah – Hello feat. Sarkodie

Adina – Too late    — WINNER

Joey B – U x Me

Trigmatic – Motromodwo feat. A.I


Best Female Vocalist

Adina – Too Late     —  WINNER

Becca – Beshiwo

MzVee – Nobody Else

Piesie Esther – Agye won nsam

Petrah – My Man


Best Male Vocalist

Ogya Mensah – Get Serious

Afriyie – Here to Stay

Joe Mettle – Onwanwani   —  WINNER

Akwaboah – Hello

Sonnie Badu – Still You Reign

Ernest Opoku – Yewo Nyame a yewo adze

Best Group of the Year





Best Music Video of the Year

Wiyaala – Leno

Okyeame Kwame – Small Small feat. MzVee  —  WINNER

Nacee – Yewo Nyame a yewo adze feat. Ernest Opoku

Flowking Stone – Rapping Drums

Manifest – W’ani aba feat. Bisa K’Dei

Edem – Nyedzilo feat. Rekaado Banks

Songwriter of the Year

Joe Mettle – Onwanwani

Kill Beatz – Too Late

Kofi Kinaata – Confession — WINNER

Nacee – Yewo Nyame a yewo adze


Hiplife/Hip pop artiste of the year



Flowking Stone


Sarkodie — Winner


Joey B

Best Rapper of the Year

Flowking Stone – Fire Bon Dem RMX

EL – Love God

Meidkal – Connect

Yaa Pono (Ponobiom) – Mind on Money

M.anifest – 100%  —  WINNER

Sarkodie – Fire Bon Dem RMX

Album of the Year

Counselor – Nacee   —  WINNER

Bar 3 – E.L

Nowhere Cool – M.anifest

Gifted – Flowking Stone

Sounds of Africa – Sonnie Badu

Unsung Artiste

Kwame Eugene — WINNER

Aj Lyricx

Afezi Perry

CJ Biggerman


Deon Boakye

Cina Soul

Highlife Song of the Year

Jwe – Bisa Kdei

Confession – Kofi Kinaata — WINNER

Beshiwo – Becca ft. Bisa Kdei

Mintse Bo – Wisa Greid

Christy – Dobble

Bokor Bokor – Kill Beatz ft. Mugeez and Fuse ODG

Gospel Song of the Year

Yewo Nyame a Yewo adze – Nacee ft. Ernest Opoku

Change Over – Mary Agyemang

Mewo Jesus – Mabel Okyere

Still You Reign – Sonnie Badu

Healing Stream – Jeshrun Okyere Ft. Nathaniel Bassey

Agye Won Nsam – Piesie Esther


Reggae/Dancehall Song of the Year

People Dey – Stonebwoy — WINNER

Nwansina – Ras Kuuku Ft. Luther

Gborgborvor – Gallaxy Ft. Stonebwoy

Kupe – Ebony

Yonnah – Samini ft. Luther

Pain Dem – Rudebwoy Ranking

Arostor – Kaakie Ft. Yaa Pono


African Artist of the year


Mr Eazi

Run Town   —   WINNER


Nathaniel Bassey

Most popular song of the year : ‘Christy’ By Dobble